We had a constant 24 hour storm last Wednesday,very scary it was too. Some gusts were around force 11 I believe,at one stage I did get worried but saw no damage occurring until late in the day when I looked out from the snug window & glimpsed,through other shrubs, what I thought was a pile of green leaves at the far end of the driveway.Odd I thought.

Further inspection revealed this: 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At first I thought wow,how lucky is that,that my car which had been parked there a day earlier  was no longer or that the friend who visits usually about this time of year for a week & always parks there & would now be flattened !

My relief was followed by the immediate thought maybe now I can get all the ivy off & the cherries will still come as the roots are still in the ground,this followed immediately by  the thought how the hell am I going to be able to dispose of the tree itself without paying 100’s to get it cut up ?

Also being an optimist I realised that the nearby roses would now get more light & I, a typical gardener saw an opportunity to choose,buy & plant a new tree of my choice !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As if I’m not way behind with all work in the garden ,after two months of rain I’ve done absolutely nothing……….so here is another setback.Sigh….

Hey ho, thank goodness I have the time, tools & a chain saw !