Another half term has been & gone, we had fun.The eldest child did his revision & of course played his mobile to death.
We did however fire up the metal detector & went in search of an old porthole which was attached to a door…given to me for a back garden door.
I had dumped it in my bonfire area approximately 15 years ago as it was never used,slowly it rotted away outside & I eventually moved it into the old orchard.

Subsequent garden prunings & chopping’s were piled onto it over the years & bonfires lit etc.

This year I came across an old lock & door handle as I cleared the whole area & so was reminded of said door.

Within minutes of sweeping, the machine indicated metal just below the surface,we dug down & bingo the porthole was found.seen here after a good wash & now soaking in vinegar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next we had to decide what to do with it, so off Mai & I went to the local Depot Vente where we found a little round table. It was cheap ply with a lino top,but best were the sturdy metal legs…needed for such a heavy glass top, which after testing has proved to be bronze !

We stripped & trimmed with my jigsaw & then knocked out the old corroded screws & presto,here is the result.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I happened to have the green glass on something else but prefer it on this table, all I have to do now is decide where to put it ! :-))