It’s GOING……. 

GOING………

GONE !!

My battery chainsaw did an excellent job.

The tree was planted for evergreen in the winter, but grew too much & now served no purpose, plus it was blocking the maple behind which will soon be bright red as the leaves take on their Autumn hue.

I’ve now dropped this conifer & a silver Birch so I’m feeling rather satisfied with my week.

Funnily enough I bumped into Paul when shopping on Saturday & during our chat he said he also did tree work & his partner … is registered for garden maintenance work. This was music to my ears as there’s a lot of big trees which need attention here & are definitely not something I would attempt, so, they will be coming to help out.

Lucie’s intro to Paul is turning into a Godsend !

Speaking of agents, a young man turned up on Monday , complete with clipboard & brochure , saying he’d heard I wanted to sell my house. This has never happened before …a French person looking for work ! In all these years I’ve never had someone ask if I needed a gardener, window cleaner, chimney sweep, labourer, etc.  He left his card & brochure & departed promising to contact me in the spring.

It’s been a very good week all round, I have spotted a Goshawk in the nearest Oak to my conservatory, then two days later the female showed up ! 

The famers came to cut the Maize….. I watched them, they have a new system where a lorry no longer drives alongside the harvester as grain fills it, the Harvester now stores the grain until full, then off loads into a larger single waiting lorry, this must save fuel & only two drivers needed. This went on until dusk, as the Harvester got nearer the centre of the field I saw a family of fifteen wild Boar run out of the tall standing maize & then the next day two young Deer were out feeding on the newly exposed grass……….autumn has certainly arrived.

 Then yesterday was spent making my Christmas cake ! 🙂